Minutes of Meeting

Central Arkansas Trail Alliance Board of Directors January 16, 2014

<u>Welcome and Introductions</u> – CATA President Bruce Alt welcomed the Officers and Directors to the first CATA Board of Directors meeting. Each person gave a self-introduction.

<u>Bylaws Review</u> – Vice President Mike Mitchell developed the draft Bylaws for review by members and Directors. They were patterned after the Central Oregon Trail Alliance, a similar IMBA Chapter in Bend, Oregon dedicated to trail development and stewardship. The draft Bylaws were presented to the attendees at the CATA General Membership meeting on January 6, 2014 and then posted on the CATA website for review. Mike had received suggestions and incorporated them into this revised draft. After review and discussion, it was moved, seconded and <u>voted</u> unanimously to adopt the Bylaws. An official working copy was circulated and all Officers and Directors present signed the document.

Articles of Incorporation and Non-Profit Status Application – Mike explained that he had <u>completed</u> the Articles and filed them with the Arkansas Secretary of State on November 22, 2013. The Board recognized Mike's generous service and thanked him for his contributions as our attorney. Furthermore, Mike stated that now that the Bylaws had been approved, CATA's application for a 501(c) 3 non-profit organization <u>would be made</u> with the Internal Revenue Service.

<u>Potential Projects</u> – Directors discussed potential trail development and stewardship projects for CATA to consider in 2014. Mike reminded all that our purposes as an Alliance were threefold: *to establish trails, maintain existing and new trails, and link trail users for these purposes.*

These suggestions were discussed:

- 1. Allowing mountain bike access to the 22-mile segment of the Ouachita Trail on the north side of Lake Maumelle, from Highway 300 west to Highway 10.
- 2. Working with the City of Little Rock Parks and Recreation officials to develop a multiuser trail in the Fourche Creek Bottom.
- 3. Organizing a Trail Stewardship workday to restore the Jackfork and Rabbit Ridge mountain bike trails at Pinnacle Mountain State Park on Sunday, February 9.
- 4. The need a public relations, communications, marketing, and media relations function in order to be truly successful.
- 5. Displays and rides at area races and festivals, including the upcoming May 2 Bike/Ped Summit in Little Rock.

<u>Membership</u> – Bruce explained the costs and benefits of formally affiliating CATA as a Chapter of the International Mountain Bicycling Association. After discussion, it was moved, seconded and <u>voted</u> unanimously to affiliate with IMBA, form an IMBA Chapter, and set our membership dues at \$35 annually.

<u>Organization and Leadership</u> – Directors reviewed and discussed a draft organizational structure that had been distributed in advance in the Advance Agenda. After discussion it was moved, seconded and <u>voted</u> to establish the following structure. Board members volunteered to lead these efforts:

Trail Development Working Group
Lake Maumelle Task Force - Mike
Pinnacle Mountain Task Force - Appointed Gene Ludwig
Fourche Bottom Task Force - Brett

Trail Stewardship Working Group - Basil

Bike Patrol Working Group – Appointed Van Phifer

Public Relations, Communications and Media Relations Working Group – Joe

Advocacy Working Group - Jon

Support and Fundraising Working Group - Bruce

Membership Working Group - David

<u>Next Board Meeting</u> – It was the <u>consensus</u> of the Board to meet on Thursday, February 27, 2014 at a location to be determined later.

Next General Membership Meeting – It was the <u>consensus</u> of the Board to schedule the next general meeting for Monday, February 17, 2014 at a location to be determined later and to invite Patrick Henry Hays, former Mayor of North Little Rock and avid cyclist, to speak as a special guest.

Adjournment – Bruce asked if there was any further business to discuss. Hearing none, the meeting was adjourned at 8:40 p.m.

Attendance

Bruce Alt, President
Brett Budolfson
Kay Crutchfield
Basil Hicks
Joe Jacobs
Jeremy Martin
Mike Mitchell
Jon Moran
Tyler Neese
David Reckert

Absent

Matt Goddard